Mailing List
Get the latest news by email.

Your email:

New Members

In order to serve you better, select your area code in the drop down list below.

Aller à la version française

AMA Supercross: Another one for Villopoto


by Luc Fradette

Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) won in front of more than 41,000 fans his second race of the 2011 AMA Supercross Series championship at the first event ever held at the famed Dodger Stadium in California.

Brett Metcalfe (Suzuki) surprised everyone by winning the holeshot in the Class 450 main event closely followed by team-mate Ryan Dungey.

TwoTwo Motorsports’ Chad Reed, who was looking for his first ever podium with his newly formed team, suffered a crash on Lap 1 and started last. On the other hand, Reed’s long-time rival James Stewart (Yamaha) was moving into third place.

Unfortunately for him, Metcalfe crashed and handed over the lead to Class champion to Dungey before Stewart moved around him on Lap 4. Trey Canard (Honda) was closely following the action upfront and forced his way into third place, and two laps later passed Dungey for second.

On Lap 11, Stewart crashed, giving the lead to Villopoto and allowing Dungey to secure second. Despite the crash, Stewart only lost a few positions and moved into second place on Lap 16 where he would finish. Dungey finished third.

Next race to be run in Oakland, California, at Oak-Alameda City Stadium on January 29th.

Supercross Class 450 Results: Los Angeles
Pos. Rider Bike
1. Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki
2. James Stewart Yamaha
3. Ryan Dungey Suzuki
4. Trey Canard Honda
5. Justin Brayton Yamaha
6. Kevin Windham Honda
7. Chad Reed Honda
8. Brett Metcalfe Suzuki
9. Andrew Short KTM
10. Kyle Chisholm Yamaha

Supercross Class 450 Standings After 3-rounds
Pos Rider Bike Points
1. Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki – 72
2. James Stewart Yamaha – 67
3. Ryan Dungey Suzuki – 58
4. Trey Canard Honda – 56
5. Chad Reed Honda – 48