Mailing List
Get the latest news by email.

Your email:

New Members

In order to serve you better, select your area code in the drop down list below.

Aller à la version française

WSBK England - Cal Crutchlow wins twice, Max Biaggi closes in on 2011 Championship



Cal Crutchlow (Yamaha) had an impressive weekend at Silverstone with back-to-back victories, his first two in World Superbike, twice beating countryman Jonathan Rea (Honda) to the finish line.

In the first race of the English doubleheader, the Yamaha rider indulged in an entertaining scrap with Rea during the first-half of the race, but once he made his move for the lead with six laps remaining, it was “easy” sailing up to the chequered flag.

Crutchlow was not done yet, as he followed up his first win with a second one in Race 2, once again just ahead of Jonathan Rea. Rae led initially, until Crutchlow made a pass and the two riders fought for a few laps. Rae ran wide late in the race and ran out of time to catch up to the day’s hero.

Max Biaggi (Aprilia) protected his 68 point lead on Leon Haslam in the 2011 Championship, with 20 races run and six to go. Barring a total breakdown, Biaggi should win the championship aboard the Aprilia, made by the smallest manufacturer competing in the series. Bravo to the technical team at Aprilia, and to Mad Max, who has rebuilt his career after his banishment from MotoGP due to his advanced age…

WSBK England - Race 1 Results
Pos. Rider Brand Laps/Gap

1. Cal Crutchlow Yamaha 18 laps
2. Jonathan Rea Honda +1.621s
3. Leon Haslam Suzuki +11.433s
4. Michel Fabrizio Ducati +15.874s
5. Max Biaggi Aprilia +17.085s
6. Leon Camier Aprilia +17.532s
7. Etc...

WSBK England - Race 2 Results
Pos. Rider Brand Laps/Gap

1. Cal Crutchlow Yamaha 18 laps
2. Jonathan Rea Honda +2.070s
3. Leon Camier Aprilia +8.834s
4. Leon Haslam Alstare Suzuki +13.232s
5. James Toseland Yamaha +13.258s
6. Max Biaggi Aprilia +13.568s
7. Etc...

WSBK Standings - After 10 of 13 rounds
Pos. Rider Points

1 Max Biaggi Aprilia 352
2 Leon Haslam Suzuki 284
3 Jonathan Rea Honda 203
4 Carlos Checa Ducati 189
5 Noriyuki Haga Ducati 172