Mailing List
Get the latest news by email.

Your email:

New Members

In order to serve you better, select your area code in the drop down list below.

Aller à la version française

MotoGP: Lorenzo wins a wet home Grand Prix


by Luc Fradette

Jorge Lorenzo (Yamaha) won his first race of the 2011 MotoGP season at Spanish Grand Prix in Jerez; capitalizing on Casey Stoner (Honda) and Marco Simoncelli (Honda) retirements after being involved in accident.

Yamaha was set for a one-two until Ben Spies crashed out with just three laps to go, allowing Dani Pedrosa (Honda) to reclaim second despite struggling for speed later on.

While pole sitter Casey Stoner (Honda) managed to stay in front of Lorenzo, at first, Simoncelli was soon with the lead duo, and sliced past the Yamaha and the Honda in quick succession to hit the front on lap six.

By lap seven, Valentino Rossi (Ducati) came from the back to take third from Lorenzo. As he went down the inside of Stoner for second he lost control and fell, sliding into Stoner and eliminating the Honda.

Simoncelli was then two second in front of Lorenzo and he looked set to take his maiden MotoGP win, but on lap 12, the Italian made a mistake and was launched into a high-side as he tried to catch his sliding bike.

Lorenzo was now in the front seat and stretching away from Pedrosa as Spies was moving closer to the Honda eventually taking second. He soon reclaimed the place though, when Spies had a low-side with only three laps to go.

Ducati's Nicky Hayden managed to finish third after Colin Edwards (Tech 3 Yamaha), who had occupied that position, parked in the gravel at the start of the final lap.

MotoGP Spanish Grand Prix Jerez - Results - 27 laps:
Pos Rider Team/Bike Time/Gap
1. Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 50m49.046s
2. Dani Pedrosa Honda + 19.339s
3. Nicky Hayden Ducati + 29.085s
4. Hiroshi Aoyama Gresini Honda + 29.551s
5. Valentino Rossi Ducati + 1m02.227s
6. Hector Barbera Aspar Ducati + 1m08.440s
7. Karel Abraham Cardion Ducati + 1m14.120s
8. Cal Crutchlow Tech 3 Yamaha + 1m19.110s
9. Toni Elias LCR Honda + 1m42.906s
10. John Hopkins Suzuki + 1m48.395s
11. Loris Capirossi Pramac Ducati + 1m51.876s
12. Andrea Dovizioso Honda + 1 lap


Colin Edwards Tech 3 Yamaha 26 laps
Ben Spies Yamaha 24 laps
Randy De Puniet Pramac Ducati 16 laps
Marco Simoncelli Gresini Honda 11 laps
Casey Stoner Honda 7 laps