Mailing List
Get the latest news by email.

Your email:

New Members

In order to serve you better, select your area code in the drop down list below.

Aller à la version française

MotoGP: Lorenzo dominates in San Marino



Yamaha's Jorge Lorenzo was obviously the man to beat today in San Marino, as he took his third win of the 2011 MotoGP season, ending Casey Stoner's run of three straight victories.

It looked as though it would be a three-way fight between pole-sitter Stoner, Dani Pedrosa and Lorenzo, but soon enough the latter took the lead on the first run down to Turn 1.

Behind them Ducati's Valentino Rossi seemed to be up to the pace, moving up from 11th on the grid to fifth by lap two.

But, the Italian was not able to maintain his speed and he had to let Gresini's Marco Simoncelli, Honda's Andrea Dovizioso and Yamaha's Ben Spies passed him by.

Same situation for Stoner who seemed to be unable to stay at the forefront anymore and by lap 22, he then fell back into the clutches of Pedrosa, who passed him for second with a bold move into Curve one on lap 22.

Stoner finished a comfortable third, leaving him 35 points ahead of Lorenzo heading into the final five rounds.

Behind them, Simoncelli claimed fourth only 0.037s in front of Dovizioso who was the final man in the top 5.

Spies brought the Yamaha home in sixth ahead of Rossi, who ended in a relatively lonely seventh for Ducati.

MotoGP San Marino Grand Prix Results - 28 laps
Pos Rider Team/Bike Time/Gap

1. Jorge Lorenzo Yamaha 44m11.877s
2. Dani Pedrosa Honda + 7.299s
3. Casey Stoner Honda + 11.967s
4. Marco Simoncelli Gresini Honda + 17.353s
5. Andrea Dovizioso Honda + 17.390s
6. Ben Spies Yamaha + 18.092s
7. Valentino Rossi Ducati + 23.703s
8. Alvaro Bautista Suzuki + 30.678s
9. Hector Barbera Aspar Ducati + 37.502s
10. Cal Crutchlow Tech 3 Yamaha + 37.720s
11. Hiroshi Aoyama Gresini Honda + 39.548s
12. Karel Abraham Cardion Ducati + 40.506s
13. Colin Edwards Tech 3 Yamaha + 53.349s
14. Randy de Puniet Pramac Ducati + 1m02.366s
15. Toni Elias LCR Honda + 1m20.156s


Loris Capirossi Pramac Ducati 9 laps
Nicky Hayden Ducati 2 laps