Mailing List
Get the latest news by email.

Your email:

New Members

In order to serve you better, select your area code in the drop down list below.

Aller à la version française

AMA MX: Villopoto wins the Steel City round



Thousands of fans lined the fences surrounding Delmont's Steel City Raceway on Saturday, as the Lucas Oil AMA Pro Motocross Championship 450 Class to witness Ryan Villopoto (Kawasaki) third win of the season, extending his lead in the standings.

American Honda's Justin Barcia grabbed the early lead in the opening 450 Class moto, but was quickly passed by Rockstar/Makita Suzuki's Ryan Dungey prior to the completion of the first lap.

Shortly thereafter, Villopoto made his way around Barcia, and set his sights on Dungey. The championship rivals were never separated by much more than a second throughout the 15-lap moto.

As both riders approached lappers in the final corner, Villopoto made a move to the outside that allowed him to slip by Dungey, narrowly avoiding contact, and steal the moto win.

As the gate dropped on Moto 2, Dungey grabbed the holeshot, looking to get away from the field quickly. However, Villopoto squeezed his way into the lead for what was the winning pass. The Kawasaki rider quickly opened up a small gap by the completion of the first lap.

Unfortunately for him, Dungey tipped the bike over and fell third behind Chad Reed (Honda). Dungey was able to fight his way back into second, but it was too late to catch Villopoto, who led all 15 laps.

AMA MX Steel City Motocross National
450 Class
Pos. Rider Bike (Moto Finish)

1. Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki (1-1)
2. Ryan Dungey Suzuki (2-2)
3. Brett Metcalfe Suzuki (3-4)
4. Chad Reed Honda (5-3)
5. Jake Weimer Kawasaki (6-6)
6. Mike Alessi KTM (8-5)
7. Justin Brayton Yamaha (7-7)
8. Kyle Regal Suzuki (9-8)
9. Nick Wey Yamaha (11-10)
10. Michael Byrne Suzuki (13-9)

AMA MX 450 Class Championship Standings
Pos. Rider Bike Points

1. Ryan Villopoto Kawasaki - 481
2. Ryan Dungey Suzuki - 467
3. Chad Reed Honda - 402
4. Brett Metcalfe Suzuki - 342
5. Mike Alessi KTM - 272